• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

How to get your spouse interested in DG?

LoPan12

Double Eagle Member
So how would you go about getting your significant other into DG? Consider the hypothetical that she (or he...are there even any females here?) has no aptitude for sports, has a firm belief in her lack of hand-eye coordination, is shy/embarrassed to "fail" [being not good at something on the first try, in this case] at something in public/in front of people, and gets frustrated at me when I try to teach her.

Okay, I'll admit though, the last one it completely my fault. I'm an awful teacher. Really awful. Add to that I've only been playing a few months, so I'm not really qualified to teach this game to others...though I still try (i've gotten 2 friends into it! though not as fanatically as myself...)
The only ideas I have are 1) take her to a short, short course, when there's almost no one else there, 2) Buy a basket (BEST excuse to buy a basket!!!) to guide her and let her practice on.

Also, what discs would you recommend I get her? Are Wizards a good putter to start her out on? I only ask because I have 6 of them...
Should I go for 150 class discs? Thanks for any input!

My wife is all about the Innova Pegasus and Cro. In the 160g area. The buying of a practice basket idea works very well. My son and I just got one recently and my wife and daughter have been out practicing putts every night since we got it.

Promise her a new pair of shoes for each birdie. Could get expensive if she turns out to be good. ;)