• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Using nothing but high-tech plastic?

UpFromTheAshes1

Bogey Member
Hi guys, newbie here.

Would it be feasible to have your whole bag full of champion/Z plastic? I'm thinking that if all of my discs were made of durable plastic that wore slowly, then I would have time to get used to the flight characteristics of each disc as it was designed to fly, rather than having to "relearn" how each disc flies as it gets worn. (not to mention not having to replace DX discs all the time). Would I be handicapping myself if I did such a thing?

Question 2: what is the straightest champion/Z driver out there? (I have power in the 300'-350' range)

I dont see why not. If you're sure your really into disc golf and the extra price of the champion/Z plastic doesnt matter....

Champion Stingray for right turns
Z XL for straight
Champion Valkerie or Beast is pretty straight too
Champion Shark or Z MRV for mid range
Z magnet or Z puttr for putts

You can do it but some discs you cant get in Champ such as a Roc. After finally picking one up, I dont think i could live without one.

PS stability can varry quite a bit between plastics so you may want to experiment.

I have about that much distance, so I guess I'll chime in. In general, the candy plastics seem to be shorter and more overstable than their lower priced counterparts, so keep that in mind when choosing the discs and weights. You will be handycapping yourself to a point because of the lesser distance you can get with the candy discs, but if you gain confidence by using candy discs you may end up ahead.