• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Midrange As Putter?

TheBeardedFatGuy

Birdie Member
I took my putter (Discraft Banger GT) out of my bag today because I've been sinking way more putts with my midrange (Innova Gator) during practice. I just seem to have a better lock on how the Gator flies, probably because upshots require finesse and I can flex shot the Gator consistently, where I can't with any of my putters.

Anybody else putting with non-putter discs?

I used to, until I learned how to actually putt.

Try something without a thumbtrack, and modestly stable. Aviar, Wizard, Judge, etc. You'll find one that feels right eventually...and you'll stop having 25' comebackers because of a rolling midrange.

I putted with a Firebird when I started playing. It worked pretty well sometimes, but I would blow past the basket if I missed. Lots of 2 and 3 putts. I shoot much lower scores since dropping down to an actual putter.

Force yourself to use a putter if you can. The Sinus is a pretty overstable putter that might flex for you. You could also try to dial in an anhyzer putt that will flatten out as it hits the basket. Uli has pretty good success with this type of putt.

I used to, until I learned how to actually putt.

This, except I still haven't learned to putt...

The best thing I ever read was a review about the 10m brick. Basically it said that the brick was a great disc, because it showed how low you had gotten to trying out cheap gimmicks when you should be working on form with a real putter.

I've used a spider to putt during 1 or 2 disc rounds. Looking at the spider profile, it's essentially a beaded aviar that has the wing stretched out horizontally to make it a speed 5. (Just my opinion; wondering if profile buffs agree?)