• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

A brief primer on how the injection molding process affects flight characteristics

sidewinder22

* Ace Member *
Diamond level trusted reviewer
OG link and DISCussion: https://www.reddit.com/r/discgolf/comments/8jc7zf/i_was_in_the_pool_a_brief_primer_on_how_the/
AdenoidHynkel said:
I design plastic injections molds for a living and thought I would share some of my acquired knowledge about the subject with my fellow disc golfers. This post will mainly focus on how the injection molding process affects the flight of a disc and why there are inconsistencies between runs and plastic types. I see a lot of misinformation on this sub (which is understandable if you're not in the industry) and wanted give everyone some knowledge that they can drop on new users in the future. I used a simulation software (Autodesk MoldFlow) to help visualize the examples. But first, a few disclaimers:

I have no idea what the propriety resin blends are for any disc company, so I picked a generic pure polyurethane to emulate Innova's Champion Edition plastic and a generic polypropylene to emulate baseline plastic. The magnitude of the results will not be comparable to molded discs, but the trends between variable changes will hold true.
I design molds for a living, meaning I spend 95% of my time behind a desk using Solidworks. Setting up and running a tool in the press happens in a completely different building, so some of the processing inputs for the simulation software are done automatically by the software since I would be completely guessing if I tried to enter them in myself. Again, this will affect the magnitude of the results but not any trends.
Now, let's get down to business.

Warpage